Delete user, lose their tickets?

Options
bahlquist
bahlquist Member Posts: 15
edited December 2023 in Helpdesk

Hey everyone, Atera newbie here but liking it so far. I came across something today in Atera that is making me re-think our user termination procedure. FWIW we are using Atera as an internal RMM/PSA - we are not an MSP.

If/when I would delete a user from a site, most often due to the user leaving the company, any tickets they've submitted to our Atera instance are vaporized - literally, I cannot find them (they're not in the deleted ticket filter).

I'm assuming this is designed behavior; but is there a way we can avoid this, without leaving all former employees in Atera until the end of time? We rely on historical ticket data to help resolve recurring issues, run reports, etc.

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• bahlquist
    Options

Ah - think I answered my own question when I came across this same problem addressed in a feature request: https://atera.uservoice.com/forums/936306-ideas-and-feedback/suggestions/46171825-major-flaw-tickets-get-permanently-deleted-if-a

Hopefully we can get some attention on this - the only way around this I can see is to completely neglect user housekeeping in favor of ticket history.

• mjones
    mjones Member Posts: 135 ✭✭✭✭
    Options

Ya, the tickets should not be this tied to a user in my opinion.

• sarah+success
    sarah+success Administrator Posts: 70 admin
    Options

Hey everyone, Sarah from Atera here.

Thanks so much for bringing this up, and also linking the relevant Feature Request (s/o @questbahlin 🤩). I have brought this to the attention of the relevant product manager as well.

In the meantime, a workaround you can use is placing all terminated users into a specific customer/site for the purpose of keeping them in the system without deleting everything associated with that user.

Let us know how you are able to use this workaround, so others can also use it!

• mjones
    mjones Member Posts: 135 ✭✭✭✭