API Upgrades and Enhancements

Options
mjones
mjones Member Posts: 138 ✭✭✭✭
edited December 2023 in Scripts

I will start off saying that I am by no means an API expert.
I come from the MSP space and I am seeing some big limitations that the big player have that Atera does not. That said there is a lot available here that they don't have.

To be honest, I would prefer that some of these limitations be fixed in the GUI, so that we didnt have to use the API.
For Example, being able to create a ticket natively from a script's output should be available. This is a basic requirement that I think should be added ASAP.

I am diving into automation's and I am looking at the API as a work-around for limitations in the system, but I am finding further limitations in the API. I have created a number of enhancement requests but thought I would bring them up here for further visibility and discussion.

API Security:
Having a single API key is a bit scary and short sighted in my opinion. We should be able to have multiple keys for each purpose\integration. This way if we needed to remove an integration, we could just remove that specific key and not break everything else we have it tied to.
https://atera.uservoice.com/forums/936306-ideas-and-feedback/suggestions/45164521-multiple-api-keys-per-account
https://atera.uservoice.com/forums/936306-ideas-and-feedback/suggestions/44971675-have-separate-read-and-read-write-api-keys
https://atera.uservoice.com/forums/936306-ideas-and-feedback/suggestions/46247899-api-security

API Limitations:
I am finding that the API has a lot of options, but seems to be lacking a number of obvious features.
https://atera.uservoice.com/forums/936306-ideas-and-feedback/suggestions/47072161-api-create-ticket-from-agentid